Hargrave Accepts Award for Work in Science Bound

Connie Hargrave and Anita Rollins accepting award.Iowa State University’s Science Bound program has been recognized for outstanding advancement of social justice and educational equity, by the National Association for Multicultural Education. CTLT faculty member Dr. Connie Hargrave is the former Director of Science Bound and accepted the award with former Science Bound staff member Anita Rollins. NAME’s Rose Duhon-Sells Program Award cites Science Bound as a model of effective instructional strategies, attention to multiple facets of diversity, and the fostering of connections among home, school, and community. The award was announced on Nov. 9, as part of the NAME annual conference in Tucson, Arizona.