Points of Pride

Patricia Leigh

Leigh receives the Regents Faculty Excellence Award

Dr. Patricia Leigh, University Professor in the School of Education received the Regents Faculty Excellence Award on September 21, 2015 at the Memorial Union Great Hall. The Regents Faculty Excellence Award recognizes tenured faculty who are outstanding university citizens and have rendered significant service to Iowa State or the state of Iowa. Read more

Faculty Focus with Dr. Leigh

Thompson with award

Thompson receives the 2015 Faculty Inspiration Award

Dr. Ann Thompson, University Professor Emeritus in the School of Education and CTLT founder and former director has received the Faculty/Staff Inspiration Award by the Iowa State University Alumni Association! The award ceremony was on May 29, 2015 at the ISU Alumni Association Board of Directors meeting. Read more

Correia receives AECT DDL Best Practices Award

Dr. Ana-Paula Correia, associate professor in the School of Education, was awarded the Best Practice Award from the Association for Education Communications and Technology's Division of Distance Learning for her work on Peer Facilitation of Online Discussion. The award recognizes a distance education practice that serves as an example that can be emulated by others. More information
Nadolny with BB award

Nadolny receives the BB Catalyst Award and the Directors' Choice for Courses with Distinction Honor

Dr. Larysa Nadolny was named the winner of the 2014 Blackboard Catalyst Award for Exemplary Course Program, for pushing the boundaries and developing an exciting and innovative course that represents the very best in technology and learning. In addition, she received the Directors’ Choice for Courses with Distinction, an honor awarded to a select group of courses that stand out even from other winning entries. Dr. Nadolny received the award on July 15, 2014 at the Blackboard World 2014 held in Las Vegas. Learn more

The Blackboard Catalyst Awards honor those who push the boundaries of their educational programs and technology in order to deliver innovative and effective learning experiences. More information

Nadolny with BB award

Correia and Yusop received the AECT 2014 Outstanding Journal Article Award

SOE Associate professor Ana Paula Correia and Farrah Dina Yusop of the University of Malaya in Malaysia received the AECT 2014 Outstanding Journal Article Award at the AECT "Learning, Design, and Technology" Convention held in Jacksonville, Florida on Nov 4-8, 2014. Correia and Yusop, an Iowa State alumna and former graduate student of Correia's, co-authored the award winning article “On becoming a civic-minded instructional designer: An ethnographic study of an instructional design experience” published by BJET- British Journal of Educational Technology. See Abstract Here

For more information on Dr. Correia’s publications, click here

For more information on Dr. Yusop’s publications, click here

CTLT faculty receive the 2014 College of Human Science Awards

Dr. Larysa Nadolny received the 2014 Early Achievement in Teaching Award due to her use of creative and innovative teaching practices. Nadolny’s game-based course design was one of the CELT’s well attend workshops. Read more

Dr. Connie Hargrave received the 2014 Diversity Enhancement Award due to her efforts to empower ethnic minority students to pursue degrees in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) fields and therefore increasing the number of underrepresented students who earn college degrees in technical fields. Read more

The CTLT Recipients of the 2013 College of Human Sciences Awards

Congratulations to Dr. Patricia Leigh for earning the Faculty Award for Diversity Enhancement! The Faculty Award for Diversity Enhancement was established to recognize outstanding performance in enhancing diversity in departmental, college, or university programs at Iowa State University. Read more

Congratulations to Tera Lawson for earning the Professional and Scientific Early Achievement in Administration Award! The P&S Early Achievement in Administration Award was established to recognize professional and scientific staff who have demonstrated exemplary performance and been with the college for 7 years or less. Read more