EdTech Highlights

Preservice teachers practice creative computing during technology lab

Students during EDUC 201 lab taught by Sarvinder Naberhaus practice creative computing using Osmo coding blocks with the main goal of looking into the ways technology can be used to teach mathematical concepts and promote mathematical thinking. Creative computing supports the development of personal connections to computing, by drawing upon creativity, imagination, and interests. It supports young learners’ development as computational thinkers.

Preservice teachers (El Ed & ECE majors) take EDUC 201 – Educational Technology in the PK-6 Classroom – as part of their teacher education preparation program to examine how technology can impact learning and how it can be used to solve instructional problems in classrooms.

Future teachers will need to use many different types of technologies that are part of our changing educational landscape. The course stimulates ideas about preservice teachers’ theoretical and practical knowledge of technology and the role technology plays in teaching and learning. 

banner photo from CHS Announcements – Photo of the Week (2/23/21)

Denise Crawford receives 2021 AACTE Edward C. Pomeroy Award

CTLT Director, Dr. Denise Crawford, is one of the recipients of the AACTE Edward C. Pomeroy Award for Outstanding Contributions to Teacher Education. Dr. Crawford along with Teresa Foulger (Arizona State University), Kevin Graziano (Nevada State College), and David Slykhuis (University of Northern Colorado) were recognized by the development of the Teacher Educator Technology Competencies (TETCs) and for their efforts to broadly disseminate the TETCs to teacher educators. 

The Pomeroy Award recognizes contributions through either distinguished service to the teacher education community or the development and promotion of outstanding practices in teacher education at the collegiate, state, or national level. The award is given in honor of former AACTE Executive Director Edward C. Pomeroy.

The award was presented at the AACTE 73rd Annual Meeting Awards Forum, on February 25, 2021.

Larysa Nadolny selected for the Research Collaboration Catalysts 2020-2021 cohort

Larysa Nadolny Associate Professor, Larysa Nadolny is among the 29 faculty selected by the Iowa State University Office of the Vice President for Research to participate in the Research Collaboration Catalysts 2020-2021 cohort, designed to train the next generation of research team leaders. Read full story




Baran implements design thinking modules to learning technologies minor students

Evrim Baran profile Learning technologies students in the School of Education are using “design thinking” to instill an entrepreneurial mindset into their teaching. New learning modules recently implemented in their classrooms — which involve a process of empathizing, defining, ideating, prototyping, and testing — encourage future teachers to use innovative problem-solving in classrooms using technology. Read full story



Innovative learning through technology internship

Caroline Aldrich profile Dani Schon profileIowa State University partners with Roland-Story, Colo-Nesco, and Gilbert school districts for a mutually beneficial internship partnership. Iowa State’s Caroline Aldrich and Dani Schon, seniors in elementary education, contribute to innovative technology implementation in the classroom during their technology internship. Caroline Aldrich is an intern at Zearing Elementary school in Colo-Nesco school district, and Dani Schon is an intern at Roland-Story Middle School in Roland-Story school district. Read full story


Evrim Baran and research team receive AERA SIG Outstanding International Research Collaboration Award

Dr. Evrim BaranEvrim Baran, associate professor in the School of Education, and her international research team received the 2020 Technology, Instruction, Cognition, and Learning Special Interest Group Outstanding International Research Collaboration Award from the American Educational Research Association (AERA). The research team (Evrim Baran, U.S.; Jo Tondeur, Belgium; Ronny Scherer, Norway; Fazilat Siddiq, Norway) conducts research at the intersection between technology integration, teacher education, and educational measurement.


Crawford & Hargrave receive promotion to “full professor”!

Denise Schmidt-CrawfordConnie HargraveCongratulations to Dr. Denise Schmidt Crawford, CTLT director and Educational Technology faculty and Dr. Connie Hargrave, Educational Technology & Critical Multicultural Education faculty for receiving the promotion to “full professor”. The announcement was made on Wednesday, April 1 by the director of the School of Education, Dr. Donald G. Hackmann. 

Online M.Ed. in Educational Technology Cohort Graduates

2019 MED GraduatesThe latest cohort in the Online Master of Education with an emphasis in Educational Technology has graduated. These twelve distance education graduate students were among the School of Education graduates this Spring.

Congratulations to Megan Algreen, Jordan Augspurger, Kendal Ausborn, Robin Ertz, Mary Tess Dwyer, Stephanie Kingery, Morgan Steege, Jill Isley, Elizabeth Whitver, Leslie Drilling, Sarah Zavoral, and Kaitlyn Schweer!

A new cohort starts this coming Fall and the application deadline is June 15. Take a look at the program flyer for more information: ISU ETMED Online Flyer

Applying learning technologies in unexpected places

Haley working with students.
Photo by Sally Shaver DuBois.

Elementary education student Haley Haskell was recently featured in a College of Human Sciences story sharing how she applied the skills she has gained from the learning technologies minor. Haley creatively applied her skills in a physical education class, helping students improve their volleyball skills using a video delay app. Click here to read the full story on the College of Human Sciences website.