Baran receives Innovative Teaching Initiative Grant

Dr. Evrim Baran
Dr. Evrim Baran

Dr. Evrim Baran’s “Create, Design, and Innovate” project received a College of Human Sciences Innovative Teaching Initiative Grant. The purpose of this project is to develop open course modules that will use design thinking as a model to help preservice teachers translate the entrepreneurial mindset into the design of learning technologies. Continue reading “Baran receives Innovative Teaching Initiative Grant”

Applying learning technologies in unexpected places

Haley working with students.
Photo by Sally Shaver DuBois.

Elementary education student Haley Haskell was recently featured in a College of Human Sciences story sharing how she applied the skills she has gained from the learning technologies minor. Haley creatively applied her skills in a physical education class, helping students improve their volleyball skills using a video delay app. Click here to read the full story on the College of Human Sciences website.

School of Education and CTLT Brings Adventure to Iowa Communities

SOE Faculty and StaffCTLT faculty and staff members Dr. Denise Crawford and Dennis Culver joined School of Education colleagues Dr. Connie Beecher, Dr. Soo Ahn, Dr. Emily Hayden, and Dr. Sara Nelson in Atlantic, IA on June 6th and Humboldt, IA on June 7th as part of ISU College of Human Sciences Extension and Outreach’s “Adventure Comes to You” series. Continue reading “School of Education and CTLT Brings Adventure to Iowa Communities”

CTLT Participates in Elementary STEAM Night

CTLT at STEAM nightCTLT staff members Tera Lawson and Dennis Culver along with student assistant Sariah Garrido hosted activities as part of Kate Mitchell Elementary’s STEAM night on April 26th. Several groups from ISU and the Ames community provides activities for the elementary students that explored topics in science, technology, engineering, art, and mathematics.

The CTLT’s activities had students using iPads, Osmo kits, and Dash robots to engage in activities that focused on coding concepts, engineering design, and entrepreneurship.

Culver Receives Award for Early Achievement in Administration

Dennis Culver at award ceremonyCTLT staff member Dennis Culver is the recipient of the 2018 College of Human Sciences Professional and Scientific Early Achievement in Administration Award.This award is granted to an individual who has “demonstrated innovative, creative or original ways to accomplish job responsibilities and effect positive change, has established a pattern of reliability and responsibility in performing job duties, has made an effort toward continual personal and professional development, has exhibited service to their department or unit and the College of Human Sciences, fosters a spirit of cooperation and has strong interpersonal relationships with fellow employees, exhibits potential for future contributions to their department or unit, the College of Human Sciences, Iowa State University, and/or the community.” The award citations for Dennis and the other awardees can be read here.

Teacher Education Goes Mobile!

Dr. Baran’s recent publication examines the integration of mobile technologies into teacher observation. Building on her work of “mobile learning in teacher education” Dr. Baran and her colleagues investigated how mobile technologies as well as video observation and traditional paper-pen methods support teacher observation schemes for professional development. Continue reading “Teacher Education Goes Mobile!”

Professional Development for Online and Mobile Learning

Dr. Baran’s chapter on “professional development for online and mobile learning” is now published at the International Handbook of Information Technology in Primary and Secondary Education. The chapter examines how professional development can be delivered effectively by looking at strategies to support teachers’ effective online and mobile teaching. Continue reading “Professional Development for Online and Mobile Learning”

Social Media Supports Citizenship

A new paper published by Dr. Ben Gleason and former ISU student Dr. Sam von Gillern explores how young people develop digital citizenship using social media. The paper is titled “Digital Citizenship with Social Media: Participatory Practices of Teaching and Learning in Secondary Education” and was published in the Journal of Educational Technology & Society.  Continue reading “Social Media Supports Citizenship”