Faculty and Staff News

Denise Crawford receives 2021 AACTE Edward C. Pomeroy Award

CTLT Director, Dr. Denise Crawford, is one of the recipients of the AACTE Edward C. Pomeroy Award for Outstanding Contributions to Teacher Education. Dr. Crawford along with Teresa Foulger (Arizona State University), Kevin Graziano (Nevada State College), and David Slykhuis (University of Northern Colorado) were recognized by the development of the Teacher Educator Technology Competencies (TETCs) and for their efforts to broadly disseminate the TETCs to teacher educators. 

The Pomeroy Award recognizes contributions through either distinguished service to the teacher education community or the development and promotion of outstanding practices in teacher education at the collegiate, state, or national level. The award is given in honor of former AACTE Executive Director Edward C. Pomeroy.

The award was presented at the AACTE 73rd Annual Meeting Awards Forum, on February 25, 2021.

Larysa Nadolny selected for the Research Collaboration Catalysts 2020-2021 cohort

Larysa Nadolny Associate Professor, Larysa Nadolny is among the 29 faculty selected by the Iowa State University Office of the Vice President for Research to participate in the Research Collaboration Catalysts 2020-2021 cohort, designed to train the next generation of research team leaders. Read full story




Baran implements design thinking modules to learning technologies minor students

Evrim Baran profile Learning technologies students in the School of Education are using “design thinking” to instill an entrepreneurial mindset into their teaching. New learning modules recently implemented in their classrooms — which involve a process of empathizing, defining, ideating, prototyping, and testing — encourage future teachers to use innovative problem-solving in classrooms using technology. Read full story



Evrim Baran and research team receive AERA SIG Outstanding International Research Collaboration Award

Dr. Evrim BaranEvrim Baran, associate professor in the School of Education, and her international research team received the 2020 Technology, Instruction, Cognition, and Learning Special Interest Group Outstanding International Research Collaboration Award from the American Educational Research Association (AERA). The research team (Evrim Baran, U.S.; Jo Tondeur, Belgium; Ronny Scherer, Norway; Fazilat Siddiq, Norway) conducts research at the intersection between technology integration, teacher education, and educational measurement.


Crawford & Hargrave receive promotion to “full professor”!

Denise Schmidt-CrawfordConnie HargraveCongratulations to Dr. Denise Schmidt Crawford, CTLT director and Educational Technology faculty and Dr. Connie Hargrave, Educational Technology & Critical Multicultural Education faculty for receiving the promotion to “full professor”. The announcement was made on Wednesday, April 1 by the director of the School of Education, Dr. Donald G. Hackmann. 

Hargrave Accepts Award for Work in Science Bound

Connie Hargrave and Anita Rollins accepting award.Iowa State University’s Science Bound program has been recognized for outstanding advancement of social justice and educational equity, by the National Association for Multicultural Education. CTLT faculty member Dr. Connie Hargrave is the former Director of Science Bound and accepted the award with former Science Bound staff member Anita Rollins. NAME’s Rose Duhon-Sells Program Award cites Science Bound as a model of effective instructional strategies, attention to multiple facets of diversity, and the fostering of connections among home, school, and community. The award was announced on Nov. 9, as part of the NAME annual conference in Tucson, Arizona.

Crawford Receives Awards for Mentoring and Teaching

Denise Schmidt-CrawfordAssociate Professor and Director of the CTLT Dr. Denise Schmidt-Crawford is the recipient of two ISU awards for her outstanding mentorship and teaching.

The Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost has named Dr. Schmidt-Crawford as a 2019 Exemplary Faculty Mentor.  This award recognizes individuals who have demonstrated exemplary mentoring of junior faculty, specifically those who go above and beyond the formal expectations of Iowa State’s mentoring program. Winners are nominated by their “mentees” for the positive impact they have made in their lives and careers.

In addition, Dr. Schmidt-Crawford is also the 2019 recipient of the James Huntington Ellis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Introductory Teaching. This award recognizes outstanding performance in teaching undergraduate introductory classes and is awarded based upon “evidence of the ability to offer high-quality instruction in introductory courses, the ability to excite interest and involve students without compromising scholarship, and the ability to enhance student performance in future courses in the discipline.”

Hargrave Receives Faculty-Staff Inspiration Award

Dr. Connie HargraveAssociate Professor Dr. Connie Hargrave is a recipient of the 2019 Iowa State University Alumni Association Faculty-Staff Inspiration Award. This award was established in 2011 as a way for former ISU students to recognize current or former ISU faculty or staff members who had a significant influence in their lives as students at ISU. Dr. Hargrave was recognized for the life-changing impact she has had on students while serving as Director for the Science Bound program and the invaluable mentorship she has provided to students.

Read more about Dr. Hargrave’s award here: ISUAA Faculty-Staff Inspiration Award

Hargrave recognized in Women Impacting ISU Calendar

2019 Women Impacting ISU CalendarCTLT faculty member Dr. Connie Hargrave has been recognized in the 2019 Women Impacting ISU Calendar for her accomplishments at ISU, within Iowa, and across the nation. Initiated in 2007 by the Catt Associates student leadership organization and funded by Iowa State’s Office of the Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion, the Women Impacting ISU calendar was developed as a tribute to current students, faculty and staff who distinguished themselves through their accomplishments at Iowa State University. Each year, 12 women from a wide variety of disciplines and diverse backgrounds are selected to appear on the calendar.

Baran receives Innovative Teaching Initiative Grant

Dr. Evrim Baran
Dr. Evrim Baran

Dr. Evrim Baran’s “Create, Design, and Innovate” project received a College of Human Sciences Innovative Teaching Initiative Grant. The purpose of this project is to develop open course modules that will use design thinking as a model to help preservice teachers translate the entrepreneurial mindset into the design of learning technologies.